Skip to main content

Scopus: tutorial: Cobertura

Guías, videos, tips y recomendaciones para obtener el mejor provecho de Scopus

Fuentes que contiene Scopus

Los tipos de fuentes que contiene Scopus son:

  • Publicaciones periódicas (serial publications)  que tienen un ISSN (Número de serie estándar internacional), tales como revistas, series de libros y algunas series de conferencias.
  • Publicaciones no periódicas (non serial publications) que tienen un ISBN (International Standard Book), como libros y conferencias únicas. 
  • Registros de patentes de los siguientes organismos internacionales: World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), European Patent Office (EPO), US Patent Office (USPTO), Japanese Patent Office ( JPO) y la UK Intellectual Property Office (IPO.GOV.UK)

Cobertura de fuentes en cifras

Scopus: Content coverage guide (Updated August 2017)

Publicaciones periódicas: descripción (en inglés)

Journals
(Revistas  científicas)
Journals make up the bulk of the content on Scopus and can have various physical formats (e.g., print, electronic). Titles are selected according to our content coverage policy.

 

Trade
journals
(Revistas profesionales)

Trade journals are serial publications covering and intended to reach a specific industry, trade or type of business. These publications usually are a magazine type of periodical with articles on topical subjects, news items and advertisements that appeal to those in the field. Trade journals are seldom refereed and do not always have an editorial board. Abstracts are usually short or nonexistent and few or no references are given. Usually an ISSN is available.

 

Book series
(Libros seriados)

A book series is a serial publication that has an overall series title, an ISSN, and in which every volume and/or issue in the series is also a book with an ISBN. Usually, but not always, each book has a book title separate from the series title and a different editor or editors. Typically, each book is a monographic publication. Book series are usually published irregularly.

 

 

Conference materials

Conference material enters Scopus in two different ways: (1) as a special issue of a regular journal, (2) as a dedicated conference proceeding. Proceedings can be published as serial or non-serial, and may contain either the full articles of the papers presented or only the abstracts. The source title usually includes words like proceeding(s), meeting(s), conference(s), symposium/symposia, seminar(s) or workshop(s), although some journals also include proceeding(s) in the title.
Scopus: Content coverage guide, p. 7 (Updated August 2017)

Cobertura de revistas científicas (Journals) en Scopus por disciplinas

Fuente: Lista completa de las revistas, metadatos, métricas y áreas de contenido en Scopus.
Los títulos pueden pertenecer a más de una disciplina.

Cobertura de libros en Scopus por disciplinas

Fuente: Lista de libros en Scopus.
Los títulos pueden pertenecer a más de una disciplina.

Tipos de documentos que cubre Scopus: descripción (en inglés)

 

Article
(Artículo)

Original research or opinion. Characteristics: Articles in peer-reviewed journals are usually several pages in length, most often subdivided into sections: abstract, introduction, materials & methods, results, conclusions, discussion and references. However, case reports, technical and research notes and short communications are also considered to be articles and may be as short as one page in length. Articles in trade journals are typically shorter than in peer-reviewed journals, and may also be as brief as one page in length.Scopus and can have various physical formats (e.g., print, electronic). Titles are selected according to our content coverage policy.

Article-in-press
(Artículo en prensa)

Accepted article made available online before official publication. “Articles-in-Press” (AiP) are pre-published versions of accepted articles. AiP do not contain cited references and are de-duplicated once the final version is published and made available in Scopus.

Chapter
(Capítulo de libro)

A book chapter. Characteristics: Complete chapter in a book or book series volume where the item is identified as a chapter by a heading or section indicator.

Conference  paper
(Artículo de conferencia)

Original article reporting data presented at a conference or symposium. Characteristics: Conference papers are of any length reporting data from a conference, with the exception of conference abstracts. Conference papers may range in length and content from full papers and published conference summaries to short items as short as one page in length.

Editorial

Summary of several articles or provides editorial opinions or news. Characteristics: Editorials are typically identified as editorial, introduction, leading article, preface or foreword, and are usually listed at the beginning of the table of contents.

Erratum

Report of an error, correction or retraction of a previously published paper. Characteristics: Errata are short items citing errors in, corrections to, or retractions of a previously published article in the same journal to which a citation is provided. 
Letter
(Carta al editor)
Letter to or correspondence with the editor. Characteristics: Letters are individual letters or replies. Each individual letter or reply is processed as a single item. 

Note
(Nota)

Note, discussion or commentary. Characteristics: Notes are short items that are not readily suited to other item types. They may or may not share characteristics of other item types, such as author, affiliation and references. Discussions and commentaries that follow an article are defined as notes and considered to be items in their own right. Notes also include questions and answers, as well as comments on other (often translated) articles. In trade journals, notes are generally shorter than half a page in length.

 

Review

Significant review of original research, also includes conference papers. Characteristics: Reviews typically have an extensive bibliography. Educational items that review specific issues within the literature are also considered to be reviews. As non-original articles, reviews lack the most typical sections of original articles such as materials & methods and results.

Survey

Short or mini-review of original research. Characteristics: Short surveys are similar to reviews, but usually are shorter (not more than a few pages) and with a less extensive bibliography.
Scopus: Content coverage guide, p. 10-11 (Updated August 2017)